MEETING MINUTES

Town of Heath BOARD OF SELECTMEN Sawyer Hall December 13, 2016

Call to Order at 7:00 p.m. by Sheila Litchfield with Brian DeVriese, Robyn Provost-Carlson and Kara Leistyna, Town Coordinator present. See sign in sheet for other attendees.

Reviewed Agenda: Add: Review and approve revised Officer-In-Charge job description; 11/29 minutes to be reviewed at next meeting.

Officer-In-Charge: Reviewed revisions to job description. On a motion by Brian DeVriese, and seconded by Robyn Provost-Carlson, the Board voted unanimously to approve job description as amended.

Discussed budget memo and levy ceiling issue, planning meeting with DOR.

Heath Fire Dept.: Ken Gilbert reported that the water tank on the pumper truck is leaking and needs to be repaired.

Minutes: On a motion by Brian DeVriese, and seconded by Robyn Provost-Carlson, the Board voted unanimously to approve minutes of 11/22/16 Select Board meeting as amended.

Interview: Sheila welcomed Melinda Herzig for a 7:30 p.m. interview. Described exploration of shared chief/services with neighboring towns and reason for the role as Officer In Charge rather than Chief. Further conversations on shared services will include key people. Towns planning to have a meeting to include one representative from Select Board and chiefs to explore pros/cons and potential benefits of shared services and see if there is interest – exploratory phase. Described position/pay/classification system. Ken Gilbert stressed the importance of presence at emergency calls and collaboration. He also described the emergency numbering system and need for enforcement if non-compliance. Discussed office hours and administrative vs. patrol time and use and storage of cruiser. On a motion by Brian DeVriese, and seconded by Robyn Provost-Carlson, the Select Board voted unanimously to appoint Melinda Herzig as Officer In Charge, effective 1/3/17 at the current hourly rate of \$22.80, for part-time approximately 520 hours annually, non-benefitted, year-round position.

Mail/Email and Town Coordinator Report:

- 1. Email response from MJ Handy re: meeting with DLS
- 2. Email from Sheila responding to Robyn re: Levy Ceiling
- 3. Email from Denise Allard re: Municipal Aggregation pricing decided not to participate at this time
- 4. Email from Bill Ennen re: MBI and Muni Modernization Bill
- 5. FCCIP Monthly Reports
- 6. Email from Sheila re: Budget Calendar for FY18
- 7. Email from Todd Corcoran re: MBI/Broadband
- 8. Email from Peter Larkin re: MBI funding

Other Separate Documents for review and/or signatures:

- Resignation letters
- EMPG Grant paperwork. On a motion by Brian DeVriese, and seconded by Robyn Provost-Carlson, the Board voted unanimously to accept FY17 EMPG grant in the amount of \$2,220.
- Mileage Reimbursement

Other Business:

- **MBI/Broadband Update:** In January, the committee, with other towns, will have a more indepth conversation about process.
- **Budget Planning:** Guidance Info. memo reviewed. Kara will send to all department heads with return date of 1/17/17. Reviewed and updated budget calendar for FY18.
- **DOR Meeting:** Possible date, 1/13 at 2 pm. Kara will confirm with all parties. Discussed Levy Ceiling matter and reviewed worksheet and recommendations from DLS article from City & Town. Curious why now and not informed 3-4 years ago. Issue related to property values. If growth staying static and spending static, why such a change? Why the increase in limit? Need to discuss with DOR and work on solution, how to increase revenues and to discuss other towns experiencing same situation. Will look at prior years and see if Heath has been at this point in the past. Historical data will be analyzed.
- Energy Advisory Committee: On a motion by Brian DeVriese, and seconded by Robyn Provost-Carlson, the Board voted unanimously to appoint Heather Row to serve on Energy Advisory Committee for FY17.

8:43 p.m. Finance Committee members left meeting.

Next meeting scheduled for Dec. 20, 2016 at 7 p.m.

On a motion by Brian DeVriese, and seconded by Robyn Provost-Carlson, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn at 9:14 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kara Leistyna Town Coordinator